The Story of Amanda Todd

Amanda Todd

Read a story on CNN.com today that brought me to tears. The story of Amanda Todd. A fifteen year old girl having to deal with things that no teenager should ever have to experience.

Amanda had been suffering severe bullying, both personally and online, due to being taken advantage of and as a result….making a string of poor decisions…which lead to more severe bullying.

Amanda posted a video on YouTube telling her story.

Amanda included this description on her video:

    I’m struggling to stay in this world, because everything just touches me so deeply. I’m not doing this for attention. I’m doing this to be an inspiration and to show that I can be strong. I did things to myself to make pain go away, because I’d rather hurt myself then someone else. Haters are haters but please don’t hate, although im sure I’ll get them. I hope I can show you guys that everyone has a story, and everyones future will be bright one day, you just gotta pull through. I’m still here aren’t I ?

    -AmandaTodd

According to a few sources, Amanda posted this video when she was 13 years old. A short 2 years later, Amanda succumbed to her suicidal feelings, no doubt due to the seemingly never ending barrage of insults and bullying.

Such a tragic story. One that is becoming far too common.

Toward the end of her video, she showed this card;

    I have nobody, I need someone

If you or someone you know are being bullied, PLEASE talk to someone! Talk to us! YOU ARE NOT ALONE!

Watch Amanda’s YouTube video here.

Stop Bullying: Speak Up

www.CNN.com

www.stopbullying.gov

Click Below To Read Relevant Christian News!

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

4 thoughts on “The Story of Amanda Todd

  1. I’m heartbroken over this too. I can’t wrap my head around people’s cruelty. I feel like I am being pulled to help the brokenhearted in this world in some way. I’m waiting for God to show me in what way.

  2. Pingback: Amanda Todd’s Story inspires Others. « THE SCARECROW

  3. Pingback: On Teenage Girls, Stories and Stones « THE SCARECROW

Comments are closed.