When They Call Me Daddy!

Nothing can melt a Daddy’s heart quicker than one of his baby’s running to him arms open wide excitedly

Photo courtesy of : Photostock

yelling, “Daddy”! If you have never experienced it….you have missed one of life’s most beautiful moments.

Little girls especially can have this affect and sometimes learn at an early age that a bat of the eye lashes and a soft “Daddy can I have…” and the next thing you know you are emptying your wallet and she is headed to the mall to buy who knows what.

I have so many fond memories of my babies and those early years. It doesn’t happen very much later on in life when they get older I am finding out.

I found myself reminiscing about those times the other night and the thought came to me, “Imagine how God feels when we call Him “Daddy””. When we feel so deeply and intimately toward Him as a child to his Daddy. Think of how you feel when your child looks at you lovingly and says “I love you Daddy”, now multiply that many times over and we might just begin to scratch the surface of how our “Daddy” God feels when we do the same.

We know without doubt that He loves us so very deeply. We can see it in everything around us. He has shown it through His Grace and Mercy toward us and in His gifting of eternal life for us.

    “For all who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God. For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received a spirit of adoption. When we cry, ‘Abba! Father!’ it is that very Spirit bearing witness with our spirit that we are children of God…” (Romans 8:14-17, NRSV; cf. Gal. 4:5-6)

I can imagine that much like you or I would do when our child call us “Daddy”, I can imagine Him saying, “I love it when they call me Daddy”!

(On God as Daddy)

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

4 thoughts on “When They Call Me Daddy!

  1. Pingback: Baba… | incil blog

Comments are closed.