My Neighbor and the “F” Word!

So I have this neighbor that lives in our subdivision that we affectionately refer to as Effin Jeff, because about every other word out of his mouth is the “F” word.

I can’t help it…I like the guy!

My wife told me “I know why you like him so much, he’s real”!

She is absolutely right….he is real….there is no pretense to him. What you see is what you get. He is as authentic as authentic can be. He is as some would call him, “a man’s man”. He’s a little rough around the edges, but he will do anything for you.

He is the kind of man that’s not afraid of an honest days work, and will work his tail off for you for an honest buck. I have seen him work at our place, mowing, edging, cleaning up brush around our acre of land. At first I hired him because he was cheaper than anyone else….but soon realized that he does a better job than anyone else has ever done on my thick, eternally green, St. Augustine, one acre lawn. And believe me, I have had some real winners do our lawn. One actually cut, or I should say burned, a huge figure 8 in our lawn just before a big get together on Easter one year.

What is wrong with a Christian being real, authentic, transparent, vulnerable?
Why do we insist on wearing masks and being something or someone we are not?
Why are we afraid to show our flaws or admit our weaknesses?
Why do we feel the need to “appear” that we have it all together?

Shouldn’t we be the ones to corner the market on being hard workers, full of integrity, people you can count on? I can tell you from experience, it’s not the case, and I have hired several hoping to find the exception to the rule.

Jesus was a man’s man. He was tough when it was warranted. He went to those who needed him. He spoke truth. He talked the talk and walked the walk. When He talked, people listened. He knew when to be silent.

I want to be that kind of man.

I know from getting to know my neighbor, that is the only kind of person he will listen to and respect. I have a feeling our conversations are about to get really interesting.

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

3 thoughts on “My Neighbor and the “F” Word!

Comments are closed.