The Most Beautiful Words Ever Spoken!

“Your Sins Are Forgiven”

In my opinion, these are the most beautiful words ever spoken.

I love the story in Luke 7 where the scripture talks of a woman “who had lived a sinful life”, heard where Jesus was, and “she brought an alabaster jar of perfume, and as she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them.”

Many around him could not believe that Jesus was allowing this to happen, I mean after all, didn’t he know what sort of woman she was? Didn’t he know she was a sinner of sinners?

I love what he does here…..he turns and looks at the woman and says to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.”

And now….those beautiful words….

“Then Jesus said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.”

Oh…those glorious beautiful words.

What a beautiful picture of our loving savior and how deep his love is for us, that he, knowing full well what wretched sinners we are…knowing exactly what we have done and what we have become…knowing every dark secret in every hidden space…still looks at us with compassion…and speaks those beautiful words over us….“Your sins are forgiven”!

It doesn’t matter where we are or what we have become, He speaks those words over us when we surrender, humble ourselves to Him and believe.

No longer condemned. No longer an outsider, but an heir, a son, a child of the living Father.

Then Jesus said…“Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?