Can a Christian be Homosexual?

At another blog I write for, I made a post today where I bounced off some ideas that were posted by a man who is a homosexual and a Jesus follower. Wesley Hill wrote a beautiful essay about the struggles he encounters as one who finds himself living in both worlds (he is celibate though).

Hill wrote:

I am drawn to these haunting confessions of Auden’s because I, too, am a homosexual Christian. Since puberty, I’ve been conscious of an exclusive attraction to persons of my own sex. Though I have never been in a gay relationship as Auden was, I have also never experienced the “healing” or transformation of my sexual orientation that some formerly gay Christians profess to have received. But I remain a Christian, a follower of Jesus.

The following paragraphs are the conclusion to the essay I posted across the way.

First, what are we supposed to do as Christians? Can we change people? Is it our job to change people? Can the blind lead the blind? Can the sinner cure the sin? Or can we, or shouldn’t we, love people and let Jesus do the curing and healing? Isn’t it better to recognize that we are all sinners, all in the same boat, all helpless without Jesus? What becomes of me when I think that I can solve the sins of others with the same tactics that were used to solve mine (as if they are solved!)? Do we not all take different paths in Jesus before we are fully healed? Truth of the matter is this: We won’t be like him, no matter how healed we are in this life, until we see him (1 John 3:2).

Second, yes, the Bible says ‘repent’ and ‘leave your life of sin.’ (The Bible even says that ‘that is what some of you were’ with the meaning that ‘that is not what you are now.’) But ironically, or not, these commands are never rescinded. We are called to them over and over again every day. We are called to abandon the flesh every day: take up your cross, deny yourself, follow me. We win. We lose. We succeed. We fail.  Jesus is not so naive to think we will not fail. If he was, I suppose there would be no need for grace, would there? If Jesus commands me and you, people who are incapable of forgiving once, to forgive 70*7, do we think he does any less for the person who struggles to live in the paradox that is Romans 7:14-25? We are not Christian perfectionists if we believe in the Bible’s teachings about grace. I don’t believe Jesus expects us to be.

Third, can a person be a homosexual-Christian? Well, ask yourself: Can a person be a (___)-Christian? It’s not a matter of practice, but a matter of identifying our weakness and living by faith that God’s grace is sufficient even when we fail, and continue to fail over and over again, and precisely because we fail. The question is not ‘How much can I sin before I am no longer considered by God to be a Christian?’ The question is, ‘Will I continue to trust in Jesus, put my faith in Jesus, trust that His grace is sufficient even when I fail? Will I trust God to forgive me? Will I continue to seek His face?’ Frankly, I think it takes a great deal of courage to confess our sins and live by faith. It takes a great deal of honesty to come before the Lord day in and day out confessing sins. But you see, this is what Jesus said too, isn’t it? It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick (Mark 2:17). It was the man who hid his face and beat his breast that went home justified before God when he prayed (Luke 18:9-14). It was the blind man who had his eyes opened (John 9:41). I think if we are not hyphenated Christians then perhaps we are not Christians at all.

I don’t happen to believe we will ever escape the duel identity of sinner/saint until the day when Christ comes and renews all things. We will always be hyphenated Christians until we see Christ in his fullness and He changes us. So I don’t think the point is that we need to try to imagine what the other person is like before we try to offer up solutions or ‘fix’ them because I don’t happen to think we have the necessary skill set required (i.e. miraculous powers) to fix anyone in the first place. What we have is love. (Only love?) What we have is grace. So we don’t need to imagine anything at all; we shouldn’t offer up any short or long term fixes. What we must do is consider Christ crucified and what we, each one of us, struggles with on our own sin before the hyphen.

Self-examination goes a long way towards not only being able to love others, but also towards practicing continuously loving others. Jesus didn’t tell us to fix people. He told us to love people. We can point in the right direction, but it seems awfully presumptuous to think that we have the solution to anyone’s problems. Living with a hyphen is the Christian’s way of visibly living in and trusting in God’s all sufficient grace.

Stop by Hill’s post. It is worth the read.

dg

About Jerry H

I am first and foremost a Christian. I am a preacher. I am a husband and a dad. I love reading, writing, woodworking, collecting stamps, playing guitar, listening to music, baseball, golf, NASCAR (24!), blogging, studying, learning, green olives, cashews, Red Delicious apples, Chocolate, and swiss cheese. I am anxious for the Return of Jesus to redeem those of us who are waiting. Thanks for stopping by.

9 thoughts on “Can a Christian be Homosexual?

  1. Bernice29,

    Thank you. My hope is that perhaps some conversation can be generated. The church has a lot of growing up to do when it comes to love and forgiveness and grace. Grace and Peace to you.

    dg

  2. I find the gay topic in churches quite ridiculous. So many people are targetting gay and lesbians acting as if this sin is so much more than any other sin. I think judgmental people in churches should be just as targeted or more.

  3. I agree and disagree.

    Believers become Christians because they overcome one sin, not a host of sins. And that one sin is unbelief in Jesus. They overcome this unbelief by following the mandates of Romans 10: 9-10, confessing with their mouths that Jesus is Lord and believing in their hearts that Jesus was raised from the dead.

    Should believers be hyphenated Christians, such as homosexual-Christians? Absolutely not. They are Christians. Period. No longer sinners, but instead, they are saints. God’s grace is sufficient for them, too.

    Now, maybe believers need deliverance and healing, but that’s up to Jesus. He’ll get in their boats and handle their problems, just like He is working on mine.

    Do I believe homosexuality is a sin? Yes. But even with this, these Christians stand before Christ and not before me.

  4. Larry,

    I’m not saying that christians ‘should’ be anything. I’m saying we are. Here’s what I wrote: “I don’t happen to believe we will ever escape the duel identity of sinner/saint until the day when Christ comes and renews all things. We will always be hyphenated Christians until we see Christ in his fullness and He changes us.”

    Even the apostle Paul struggled with this (see Romans 7 where he describes a deeply conflicted individual and elsewhere, where he describes himself as the ‘worst sinner’ even after his conversion.)

    Thanks for stopping by. I enjoy the conversation.

    dg

  5. Jerry,

    I understand that we will always struggle with our old sin nature and our new-creation nature.

    But thank God, Paul did not stop with Romans chapter 7, he went a little farther and wrote Romans 8 which is a life-giving chapter of grace for all of us.

    And as far as Paul considering himself the “chief sinner”, I believe that he was describing himself in the past tense in these verses of 1 Timothy 1 because in 2 Corinthians 12:11, he said that he was not inferior to the most eminent of apostles.

    • Larry,

      Thanks for the reply. Your first paragraph sums up well my point. And I think that is the only point I am making as it relates to ‘our’ personal lives. This doesn’t address the manner in which I relate to others who struggle with sin after they have been justified. My other point is ‘how do I treat those who still struggle?’

      I’m not denying, at all, Romans 8. So your second paragraph is kind of beside the point. To an extent.

      Your third paragraph is just not there. I’m sitting here looking at my Greek NT and Paul very specifically wrote: ‘ego eimi’ which is his way of emphasizing the ‘I am-ness’ of his present situation. (Jesus also used ‘ego eimi’ frequently in John’s Gospel you might recall.) His personal struggle has nothing to do, as far as your point is concerned, with his apostleship and the verse you quoted from 2 Cor. They are two entirely different situations, not least of which because Paul also said at the end of 2 Corinthians that he is a man of weakness and no one has ever completely identified what this ‘weakness’ of his was. Could have been physical. Could have been spiritual. Could have been that he struggled, still, with pride.

      Thanks for the feedback.
      dg

  6. Jerry,

    Good points.

    One of the problems with comments in general, and maybe me specifically, is that the words say in part only what we really mean.

    By using the example of Paul referring to himself as not being an inferior apostle, I was inferring that he did not think lowly of himself. He had a revelation of Christ within him that was glorious. He saw himself not as a chief sinner but as a new creation, created in the likeness of Christ.

    And yes, he also saw himself as weak, but yet, grace made him strong.

    Most of us Christians do not have the glorious revelation of Christ in us, the hope of glory. Instead, we continue to see ourselves as who we were before the cross intervened in our lives, rather than who we are after the work of the cross in our lives.

    If we Christians ever attain to the revelation of how the Father sees us and loves us, we will become that person. A mighty believer in Christ.

  7. To many times I have heard preachers and family members complain about homosexuality I am tired of it I am a sinner just the same not homosexual but a sinner so I am no different and the churches I have been to have not fell on top of my head for my wrong doings no I don’t believe its right but what people do in the comfort of their own home is up to them I know anyone can be a follower of christ no matter what shape size or color now I don’t feel that they were born this way and I believe it was part of the cause for the fall of the roman empire but people need to understand that this is not the case here today we are no longer in those time periods we are in a new era and it is becoming to much of a main focus in Sunday morning services I think these churches that complain all to much about this topic should take a step back and think about what they are saying because there are bigger fish to fry if they are saved then let them live there life worry about saving yourself maybe that should be the topic of Sunday morning services I have had friends who were homosexual in church and quit going because they were being targeted and attacked and nobody knew they were gay but people do not like to be offended I myself am targeted and sometimes asked to leave churches due to my tattoos and piercings and that is very offensive and almost makes me want to stay at home every Sunday but I think this post is very accurate in saying basically yes anyone can be a christian God Bless

Comments are closed.