In Need Of A Remembrance

in-need-title1

To start this article, I will have to begin with being brutally honest. The past two years have been…well…trying is a way to put it. It hasn’t been easy, but I have survived it. I am a little weaker. Definitely battle scarred and bruised…but I have made it. Thanks in great part to my fantastic wife, and of course, to the grace and mercy of my Heavenly Father who has never given up on me.

Just yesterday as I was at my desk doing my daily paperwork, a thought crossed my mind, and I found myself breathing a little prayer…”God, I am in need of a remembrance!” I am in need of building an altar where I can look back on this time years from now and say, “there is no doubt that God was with me and He delivered me”.

In the Old Testament, there are numerous times when the Israelites would build altars as signs of remembrance for the future generations to come, so they could have a remembrance of God’s goodness and how He has delivered.

So I found myself thinking about remembrances, and looking back on the things that God has done in the past, trying to refresh myself in the knowing that God CAN and WILL. A remembrance to re-build my faith to the point where I wouldn’t even think about doubting Him or His promises. I am reminding myself of God’s promises. Reminding myself of what He has done for me in the past. Reminding myself that He has always seen me through and will do so again. Remembering past victories, past healings, past prayers answered.

“Look to the LORD and his strength;
seek his face always.
Remember the wonders he has done,…”

1 Chronicles 16:11-12

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

5 thoughts on “In Need Of A Remembrance

  1. Isaiah 43
    n “Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    o I have called you by name, you are mine.
    2 p When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
    and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
    p when you walk through fire q you shall not be burned,
    and the flame shall not consume you.
    3 For r I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

  2. Just got out of a 9-day stay in the hosp. As a pastor who aspired to sprint into ’09, it was discouraging 2 b where I couldn’t. But like yourself, I used that time for remembrance. Remembering HIM, helped me stay positive, which I believe, contributed to me walkin’ outta there! Great post!

  3. Thanks for your heart felt post. Remembering who He is and what He has done is so important! Thanks for the reminder to remember.

  4. When times are hard I think of scriptures such as Psalm 66:12 “You made men ride over our heads; We went through fire and through water, Yet You brought us out into a place of abundance.
    I personally have seen hard times in the past but I can truly say God has blessed my family.
    Mike
    crosscampusministry.com

Comments are closed.