Searching for Faith?

This is the time of year when people frequently admit that they are “Searching” for something…something more…something different….something better…..searching.

I recently ran a cross a blogger who seems to be “searching for her faith”…as I read her quandry…I wondered….how many people are there right now? You perhaps?

I will be honest…the last two years have been pure hell on me and my wife. We have had our resolve/faith tested beyond measure. So…as I reflected on this…I asked myself this morning while at my J-O-B…have I lost my faith? My answer….No! What I suffered through has nothing to do with my faith in God…only my trust in man.

As I sit here tonight writing this…I realize that what we went through was because we had allowed man to interrupt what God had called us to do. We had allowed man to dictate to us when, where, how and why. We had allowed man to restrict/determine the direction and timing of our God given ministry…and quite honestly…allowed man to send us into a self inflicted pity party.

The scripture Jeremiah 29:11 comes to mind, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I have not lost my faith. I am not searching for it. I just have to remember what my faith is in. My faith is in God…and His plans for me.

So…the natural steps from here are to determine what God has planned and follow that plan. I know…easier said than done.

So…the moral of this story is be careful that you don’t elevate man to God’s rightful position.

Be careful that you not allow the rattle and hum of the world, drown out the still small voice of the maker.

More later.

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?