Coming Soon…The World’s Largest Cross!

Grace Community Church in Houston Texas, is currently involved in a fund raising drive to erect huge crosses at each of it’s two Houston locations. One on I-45 south at Dixie Farm Road, and the other on I-45 North at it’s The Woodlands Campus.

The planned crosses would stand approximately 200 feet in the air, possibly making them the World’s Largest Crosses.

Pastor Steve Riggle has declined to speculate how much they will cost or what the timeline for construction would be.

Is this really necessary?

I mean…couldn’t that money be used for something much more productive?

Read the whole article here.

Color me perplexed.

What do you think about this?

(source: Monday Morning Insight / Chron.com)

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

6 thoughts on “Coming Soon…The World’s Largest Cross!

  1. Yes, it could DEFINITELY be used for something more important. Like… feeding Africa?

    I think at the point that a tremendous amount of money is spent on something that can’t even accommodate a group of church-goers (its not like its a church building or something)… well I think that’s at the point where Christians are missing a point.

    It’s not about the size of the cross, its about the hearts of the followers!

  2. Totally agree….of course some will say that I am an organized religion basher….but my point of contention is that instead of spending millions of dollars on great cathedrals that we like to call “places of worship”, why can’t we use that money somewhere else that it is really needed.

    The church that I was most recently on staff had it’s greatest growth when we were operating out of the local high school. That was also the time many feel we had our greatest impact on our community. We weren’t worried about how we were going to pay the monthly note on a multi-million dollar facility.

    That just happens to be my humble opinion.

  3. Thought I posted a comment yesterday but I must have left before the submit button did its thing. Anyway, I was so grieved I ranted on my own blog (You don’t get in as much hot water that way–lol).

  4. Would anyone liken this to the guy praying on top of the hill?

    “Whenever you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, because they love to pray while standing in synagogues and on street corners so that people can see them. Truly I say to you, they have their reward.” -Matthew 6:5

    Just wondering…

Comments are closed.