Too Much Sex in the Church?

30day_webnew.jpg

Ok…I have to admit…when I first heard all the negative reports about the ‘sex’ series from Relevant Church, I thought that it was probably all just a bunch of hooey from people who are looking for fault.

I have always been for pushing the envelope, being edgy and all that…but…is this taking it a little too far? Is this really what we want the world to see of us as the body of Christ? Does this really belong in church?

I have a lot of friends who are not Christians…and I have to be honest here…they are laughing at this ’30 Day Sex Challenge’. It has become a punchline in a bad joke.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t think that the body of Christ needs this kind of attention.

I am all for helping marriages stay strong, and for couples to have a healthy sex life, but shouldn’t this be done in a small group setting?

That is just my opinion…What is yours?

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

9 thoughts on “Too Much Sex in the Church?

  1. Well, as a member of Relevant Church, and a participator in the series, I can tell you that it is changing lives. My wife and I havn’t even had sex since the series started, but we’ve connected on other levels. The problem is that the church has not talked about sex enough. Our pastor is not so naive to think that singles aren’t having sex and that married Christians don’t have marriage problems. He’s hitting the nail on the head. I would encourage you all to check out the podcast at http://www.relevantchurch.com and you can also d/l all the materials on blog.relevantchurch.com and see for yourselves.

  2. If we don’t talk about sex, marriage, troubled relationships, etc. in Church or church-like (home groups, etc) setting, honestly and with a little fun then the only messages we get about those topics come from less than desireable sources (schools, bars, TV, etc). Is the potential there for more damage than good? Probably, if the topics are dealt with honestly, if we suddenly get religious instead of loving. Is it worth a try? I hope so.

  3. 2 Timothy 4:3-4

    For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.

    They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.

  4. Minnow…I am all for the discussion in a small group setting…I am just wondering if the church service…and a series dedicated to it is the proper place and time.

    Watchman…I am with Minnow…what is your point?

  5. Jimmy–you may be right but the idea sure sound more interesting than anything I’ve heard in the last 20 years of faithful attendance. Ouch.

  6. BTW–Crunchy con commentors over at Beliefnet are sounding pretty sour on the same topic. They seem more concerned that the timing coinsided (spelled that wrong) with Lent.

  7. I wouldn’t have found your page if it wasn’t for the 30-day challenge. Those who need the quick punchline are looking for a quick dismissal. They want their lives to be simple, have sex at their terms or don’t want to dive into actually understanding their spouse.

    I’ve been searching for a way to approach my wife about my needs. You have provided something that isn’t just a “Game” or “just do it” advice. Writing and reflecting is the best way to grow.

    We’re going on vacation in a week and just after we drop the kids off I’m going to approach her with this and start then (hopefully).

    If you weren’t as visable I’d still be searching.

    Thank you.

Comments are closed.