New Year Resolutions

hat.jpg

Every year at this time, millions of people make their New Years Resolutions. Unfortunately, almost no one will keep those resolutions.

I was thinking back on this past year, remembering all of the things that have happened, both good and bad. After the reminiscing was over, I forced myself to look forward to the new year and wonder what practical things I could do to ensure a Happier New Year this year.

These are my resolutions for the new year;

1. Keep my relationship with God the primary focus in my life.

    So often, I get wrapped up in the day to day and neglect the most important relationship in my life.
    If my relationship with God suffers from neglect, how can I expect to keep my earthly relationships from suffering.

2. Be a better father and husband.

    I can be very guarded and at times a little too volatile. Especially when I hold things in and allow them to fester till they build to the point of explosion.
    I want to be more understanding to my families wants and needs.

3. Follow Thru

    If I say I am going to do something….then do it…follow thru. I don’t want to leave anything unfinished….there may not be a tomorrow!

Father help me to accomplish the things I need to. Help me to be the man, husband and father that you want me to be. Help me to put away the hurt and dissapointment of this past year and look forward to the new year with great expectation of what You want to do. Please help me to remember that if I put you first in my life, everything else can be much easier.
Amen

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

One thought on “New Year Resolutions

Comments are closed.