Beer and Bible…(Good Idea or Bad Idea?)

beer.jpg

I have been seeing this come up a lot lately. I have read the arguments for and against said Beer and Bible Studies.

I know there are some who have issue with having a bible study at a bar, and then there are those who just think that you shouldn’t drink beer period.

I want to know what you think about this. How do you feel about it? Good Idea or Bad Idea? Why?

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

50 thoughts on “Beer and Bible…(Good Idea or Bad Idea?)

  1. I have a friend who is starting a church service in a gay bar on saturday evenings. http://www.myspace.com/barchurchtulsa
    Jesus went to where they were, and his first miracle was to turn water into wine at a kicking wedding reception. beer at a Bible Study? why not? everything in moderation!

  2. I’m in the process of starting a “Revolution-like” church at a club here in Tulsa, Ok. Simply being in a bar with the potential for having a drink sheds so much of the pretense and the pretending that religion creates. And, yeah, I think Jesus would have had “church” in bars. He taught everywhere. He loved everywhere.

    Peace,
    Nate

  3. I hear the argument that this could be a stumbling block yet when I read the Gospels I see Jesus doing the same thing. So either it’s cool to do such a thing or Jesus did something wrong.

    I don’t know about you but I’m not comfortable saying that something Jesus did was a bad idea.

  4. In Mark Driscoll’s book “The Radical Reformission” he provides probably one of the clearest explanations of all sides of issue. He seems to have the best theological position in regard to church history and current culture. He also has been greatly informed by Ken Gentry’s work “God Gave Wine”.

    Maybe I just agree with Mark’s conclusion because I myself enjoy a frosty libation now and then. Conscience and moderation are key. I would never have a beer with someone who struggles to remain alcohol free.

    I know some guys who have very effective ministries in bars. I thinking very seriously about adding a microbrewery to the coffee shop that I open. I would employ one of my non believing buddies to run that aspect. Sort of a strange missional paradox.

  5. Nate….I think that is great…as long as the truth is taught, uncompromised…just as Jesus would have.

    Jason….I have heard that argument as well and have talked at length with some friends of mine about it.

    Tony….I have read some of Marks thoughts on this issue and I agree…very clear and great theological argument.
    I have a friend who pastors a successful church and he has decided to start a Beer and Bible study at a local bar.

    I for one cannot stand beer…however…I do enjoy a glass of good wine.

    To be completely honest…I am thinking about starting one myself. I have an aquaintance thru my fantasy football league who manages a local pub…with a great private room that we could use.

  6. Why wouldn’t you have bible study in a bar? I see nothing wrong with it. The drinking beer part gets tricky! I see nothing wrong with drinking however you have to be careful. As ladies at the last church my husband pastored we went out to Olive Garden for lunch. A couple of wanted wine and did not order because one of our guests was a recovering alcoholic. Don’t get drunk, make sure it is not a stumbling block to another person , besides that have fun!!

  7. Erica,

    I ran into a friend of mine yesterday and we started talking about this subject. He thought it was a great idea. I told him that I would let him know when we kicked off. It was then he told me that he didn’t think it was good for him because he had a drinking problem before becoming a Christian.

  8. What a ridiculous idea. People always say “Jesus went where the people were, so should we.” FYI – there were bars and taverns in the days of Christ but I don’t remember reading where he set up weekly meetings there. Come on, let’s not be ridiculous in our efforts here.

    Church IN a gay bar? I went to the site (MySpace) and see pics of men holding each other. So are you preaching that they can’t retain that abominable lifestyle or are you just preaching acceptance – “Grace covers it all.”?

  9. BTW, you hit the nail on the head in the above post:

    was then he told me that he didn’t think it was good for him because he had a drinking problem before becoming a Christian.

    It just shows how silly and upside-down this whole concept is. But I could hardly believe the gay bar/club concept. It’s sad that people try to justify literally anything in their “efforts to reach the lost.”

  10. Paul C,

    So you are of the opinion that God cannot move in a bar?

    Can you show me scripture where it is wrong to have a bible study in a bar?

  11. I have participated in a few studies in a pub/bar and have had a Guiness. I have to admit, the first time that I participated, I felt very odd.

    I do think that you have to be cautious because there are/will be people where this could be a stumbling block or may have one drink too many.

  12. Well, the Bible says what ever you believe about wine (I think that would include beer) keep between God and yourself. Having said that, I think it would be easer to win a drunks confidence by buying him, or her a drink. Unfortunately if a Christian sees this it might weaken his or her faith. The Bible only says in one place that it would be wrong to drink and that is only if you are a king. I don’t qualify as a king; do you? It does take a dim view of drinking too much. The real problem is we don’t keep it between God and ourselves (I guess that means me also). If no one preached that it was wrong to drink we would not have a problem with a Bible study in a bar.
    If it is wrong to drink can we have communion?

    Joe Martino,
    Man that was funny. (If you aren’t a preacher)

  13. Joe, test me on this. Tell the preacher his sermon would have sounded better if he had indulged a little before giving it. “O” wait a minute; I didn’t mean if you are a preacher I meant if someone said it to a preacher. (Wasn’t very clear was I)

  14. I think it depends… are you bringing glory to God or are you looking for an excuse to have a beer. I think you can have a beer with others without needing to sit and have a Bible study. Jesus hung out with the prostitutes, but he didn’t prostitute Himself.

    In other words, you can go in a setting and not take part in all aspects of that setting but still minister effectively. If the drinking is above and beyond normal, though, it can definitely distract from the message. It really just depends on what your focus is and how fine you walk the line of what is acceptable or not.

    If you feel God calling you to do something then go for it, but make sure it’s to honor Him and not to draw attention to yourself.

  15. Why does it have to be a good idea or a bad idea? I think that it is a neutral idea. While at home, alone, I’ll have pint while I study. Why shouldn’t it be done in a group setting as well?

    I posted recently about our study group taking it on the road to a local pub. A pastor wrote me and said, “This is a great idea. I think we should try this at my church.” I was a little perplexed. It is not a gimmick or a ploy or a strategy. I, naturally, like to go to pubs. And I like to study the Word as well. Why not do both?

  16. Jesus did NOT drink beer and get drunk! Wine was a beverage back then much like lemonade or Pepsi is today. They drank it at meals. Anything that alters your senses (alcohol, drugs etc.) and has the temptation of overindulgence with harmful affects is to be avoided. There are numerous scriptures in the Bible that refer to this. If you are going to learn about Jesus, I hope you will be learning about this, too. Please do not pick and choose what parts of the Bible to believe. Jesus would only be going to bars to reach people, not to partake in the drinking. He loved people, not beer. Bars and bible study do not mix.

    • Finally someone who understands and continues to reverence God and Bible study. Christ didn’t hang out with drunks and prostitutes… yet he didn’t avoid them when they called for help either. He brought them out of their lifestyles without participating in their lifestyles. Simply because Christ did drink wine and was unjustly called by some a “wine drinker – drunk,” doesn’t give the church permission to partake in beer and the Bible in the synagog of Satan. What better place for a Christian to stumble and cause others to stumble. You don’t need to go to the bars to make an impact… go to your neighbor’s house and community… you;ll find the same problems there while remaining obedient to the great commission. Also, why not hold your Bible studies in a local nursing home? There are many there at death’s door who have simply never been told. Run away from these groups who want to take God’s precious pearls into the hog pens of society just to have it trampled into the manure by people who don’t really want to know. You’d simply be a kill joy to them. For those who would show interest in the Word while drunk – you can bet that their repentance is one that would be emotional (controlled by the wrong spirit) rather than one of repentance. If your church can’t make a difference by being true to the preaching of God’s Word on Sunday, don’t expect anything else than a “watered down” version on Friday night. By the way… of the Disciples – of whom Jesus left to conduct the Commission, where do we see them continually focusing their teaching and preaching? I’m sure the Pharisees would’ve been very content had they been frequenting the pubs. Hey “beer and the Bible” Christians… what are you gonna do when some loud mouth drunk wants to make a scene about what you’re doing? It will happen… unless of course they can’t distinguish between you and all the other patrons. I’m pretty sure we are to avoid those areas/people where/who we know would be troublesome.

      • Ron….my brother.

        Where to start?

        I believe that holding a Bible study in a nursing home is a great idea…are you doing that?

        I have attended some churches that were worse than any “Synagogue of Satan” ever thought of being.

        Why do people automatically assume because we are talking about “Beer and Bible Study”, that people are going to be drunk. Always going to the worse. Legalism at it’s finest.

        “Pearls into the hog pens of society”…..really? Expound please?

        • The above statements appear as though wine has no alcohol content at all, but in most cases the better the wine; the more potent. Jesus himself turned good drinking water to wine, and it was stated that is was the best wine. Also Wine (also beer if you do any history studies here) were made long before Israel as a nation were in the promised land. That would mean they drank it before as others like to say they had good drinking water. Not to mention almost every Patriarch in the Bible is recorded feasting and drinking and making merry. And I think this whole beer and a bible movement is less about preaching to a bar rather than people finding common ground and studying the bible together. I am not a drunkard by any regards but I like beer maybe a six pack a week at most, am I condemned for doing so? I would like to also say that caffeine is a drug and alters perception as well as other attributes it has, how many people drink coffee like a religion and soda and energy drinks? We could go around and tear each other to pieces but I think Holiness first and foremost is between the person and God, secondly I would say that if beer and a bible is not for you then just don’t participate perhaps Starbucks and a bible would be more suiting.

        • Timothy…I agree with you. I too enjoy the occasional beer or a glass of wine. I figure if it is good enough for Timothy in the Bible…I figure it’s good enough for me. 🙂

          Thanks for visiting Relevant Christian!

        • Jimmy,

          Yes, I do hold Bible study… everywhere I go. At work I spend my lunch hour studying with those who are interested. I do agree that many churches are the “synagogue of Satan…” you’ll know them by the fruit they bear. So when you, inadvertently, attend these churches… RUN!!! Understand that I am not, and do not, support legalism. Yet, in corporate worship, I believe we must all reverence God in the highest. That doesn’t include drinking beer where the circumstances exist for one to get drunk: or those that are drunk to cause a commotion. Look to the Bible and you will find where God condemns this in the Old and New Testament. Check out how Communion was being conducted and had to be corrected in the Scripture. So let’s not attach labels without proof. As for as the “pearls” are concerned – look it up. Some people – most likely those at the bar, don’t want to hear the Word of God and will most likely ridicule your efforts. Let’s use our minds here. Just so you know, I don’t have a problem with a person drinking beer… provided they don’t get intoxicated with the wrong spirit. In fact, I drink beer at times. Just use the Word and common sense. If you’re going to drink beer in a Bible study at the club, then why not bring a six pack to worship on Sunday? You know it would be wrong… a stumbling block. All things are lawful, but not all things are beneficial!

          In His Grip,
          Ron

  17. Again…Sarah…as I have said before here…show me in scripture where it is wrong. I read the bible…I study the bible…I see nothing to tell me not to do it.
    What exactly is the meaning in your statement “Wine was a beverage back then much like lemonade or Pepsi is today”?

    Just wondering.

  18. I love the fact that the post have just now gotten to the point of wine was like juice, soda, etc…. First of all how would you know what the alcohol content of the wine they drink? I didn’t see a disclaimer at the bottom of page that gave the content of alcohol in the wine that was consumed by anyone in the bible. Second, if the wine did not have a trace of alcohol then why does Jesus teach us not to a drunkard when consuming the wine of his day or today.

    ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION 101
    If theres no alcohol then there is no way of getting drunk.

  19. I’m going to couch my response with a couple conditions.
    1. If you are a recovering alcoholic, then you should know better than to get yourself into the situation. Lying to yourself by saying that you are going to the pub/coffee shop/bar for the fellowship and Bible study and that you will only have a Coke is setting yourself up for failure.
    2. If you are using the beer to hide from some pain or a decision. Then you have some issues that need to be discussed with your Pastor or other lay leader in a more neutral place.

    That being said, I have been involved with Bible studies and other Christian fellowships over a good beer. But it was just that A good beer. The beer is part of the social situation. Jesus and his word was the center piece of the event.

  20. John…very cool…that is what we are talking about.

    This kind of study is not for everyone…it’s all about meeting the p.eople where they are.

    Another way of evangelism

  21. i think that beer has come to be miss used by many people specially teenagers, if we are parents and our children see us drink one beer they ll think is ok to do it so i think about this, that one beer can lead to a drinking problem what would we allow as a Christian believers this to enter in our hearts. for example God is the creator of everything he created it marijuana but we have miss used this plant is a big problem in our society and i believe beer is not that far of from turning into the same problem.

  22. Everything in moderation…. a little adultry, a little murder, a little lying, a little cheating, a little drug use. …. now that I said that…. I have had some very effective conversations in bars with people and some have even ended up at my church. Some had been away from the church so long that they didn’t feel worthy enough to attend there…. so I weave the Good News into the conversation a my local bar sometimes. I always find hurting people who need Good News there … and like I mentioned, some even receive it…. But let me reiterate …. the Everything in Moderation crowd makes the few hairs I have left on my head stand on end. Also, in a bar around these here parts … a person has to be 21 (an adult to get served ) so….. these adults make their own choices and they can always have a diet coke or water if they don’t want to drink beer. Footnote… most of the people I witness to in the bar are already career drinkers…. even Olympic status…..and God still manages to get through to them…. So go ahead….. Have your Pizza and Beer and Bible Study … just make sure you have cab fare for that weaker bro…. and give the name of the pub, time and date so I can be there……. See you all , and God Bless

  23. I thought that it was a funny coincidence that my previous comments on moderation said it was “awaiting moderation” before posting.

  24. Ok, I stumbled across this blog while searching for this particular verse in reference to a church having meetings at a brewpub.

    Prov. 31:6 “Give beer to those who are perishing, wine to those who are in anguish; let them drink and forget their poverty and remember their misery no more.”

    That said, I don’t believe in taking verses out of context, please read all of Proverbs 31 to gain a clear understanding. Please pray and ask the Holy Spirit to guide you and direct your path. I do this everday. Sometimes while drinking a great microbrew. So the Bible does indeed talk about beer, at least in the NIV translation.

    My point…
    I LOVE my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, his father, the Creator, God Almighty and his guide the Holy Spirit who leads our steps if we only listen to Him.
    I LOVE His Word! It is truly Life and sustenance.
    I enjoy Beer and Wine. Especially when pared with great food. What a blessing!
    If you also enjoy a cool, refreshing beverage, even if it contains alcohol, don’t hide it. That could be a sign you have a problem.
    If you don’t, don’t drink. Please don’t judge others according to your own social stigmas that have been drummed into you by overbearing religious zealots that are more interested in their religiousity rather than the state of your soul.

    My final point…
    If you claim to know the bible and read it and understand it, please cite your sources and references so that those of us who spend our time reading your thoughts can find out the basis for them. Many, many misunderstandings are simply straightened out by actually reading and correctly citing what God’s Word actually says. Not by trying to remember what you think you read or heard once. I had a friend once tell me that the bible said people of different races weren’t supposed to intermarry!!! But that’s a whole different blog.

    “Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.” Benjamin Franklin

  25. We find many instances in Scripture where wine and the malt are recommended in moderation, and our Lord Jesus partook of wine. Overindulgence in anything–even food–is forbidden, as a sin of the flesh; I interpret this to mean, in the case of drink, that drunkenness is forbidden; but to say all alcohol is evil is to say that Jesus committed a sin by turning the water to wine at the wedding feast, which we know cannot be so; ergo to drink is without sin of itself. Peace be unto you.

  26. As it happens, I have listed Scriptural reference for some of my thoughts here.

    “And, yeah, I think Jesus would have had “church” in bars. He taught everywhere. He loved everywhere.”

    –No, Jesus taught in the synagogue. Let’s be really careful here — Jesus loved sinners, myself included, but let’s be clear: He doesn’t condone sin!! He had to pay for it!!! NOT FUN!!

    “To be completely honest…I am thinking about starting one myself. I have an aquaintance thru my fantasy football league who manages a local pub…with a great private room that we could use.”

    –When we cut through the crap here, we’re looking for an excuse to turn Bible study into poker night. Ultimately, mustn’t we apply SOME reverence when dealing with God’s holy word?

    “Church IN a gay bar? I went to the site (MySpace) and see pics of men holding each other. So are you preaching that they can’t retain that abominable lifestyle or are you just preaching acceptance – “Grace covers it all.”?”

    –Thank you. The Gospel message — that is to say, the transforming power of Scripture is rendered useless in the absence of a penitent heart!! What happened to repentance!!???!!! Furthermore, the message you’re sending by having Bible study in a bar is that you’re the same as everyone else in the culture. Why should John Doe buy your God and His transforming power when John’s the same as you – where’s the transformation? We as Christians should appeal to John Doe by what makes us DIFFERENT!!!!

    “Can you show me scripture where it is wrong to have a bible study in a bar?”

    –1 Corinthians 8:9-13
    But be careful that this liberty of yours does not become a hindrance to the weak. For if someone weak sees you who possess knowledge dining in an idol’s temple, will not his conscience be “strengthened” to eat food offered to idols? So by your knowledge the weak brother or sister, for whom Christ died, is destroyed. If you sin against your brothers or sisters in this way and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ. For this reason, if food causes my brother or sister to sin, I will never eat meat again, so that I may not cause one of them to sin.

    1 Corinthians 10:23
    “Everything is lawful,” but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is lawful,” but not everything builds others up.

    1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1
    So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God. Do not give offense to Jews or Greeks or to the church of God, just as I also try to please everyone in all things. I do not seek my own benefit, but the benefit of many, so that they may be saved. Be imitators of me, just as I also am of Christ.

    Ephesians 5:15-21
    Therefore be very careful how you live – not as unwise but as wise, taking advantage of every opportunity, because the days are evil. For this reason do not be foolish, but be wise by understanding what the Lord’s will is. And do not get drunk with wine, which is debauchery, but be filled by the Spirit, speaking to one another in psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs, singing and making music in your hearts to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for each other in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, and submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ.

    “This kind of study is not for everyone…it’s all about meeting the p.eople where they are.

    Another way of evangelism”

    –Do we mean to suggest that the quickening of the Holy Spirit and the expository preaching of His Word have become inadequate? God doesn’t need clever marketing techniques to reach His chosen people, and He never has. The apostle Paul knew exactly what his Greek audience would be listening for in a persuasive argument, and chose to leave it all behind — in this way, his ministry is effected by the power of God, and not in his own clever marketing technique.

    1 Corinthians 2:1-5
    When I came to you, brothers and sisters, I did not come with superior eloquence or wisdom as I proclaimed the testimony of God. For I decided to be concerned about nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and with much trembling. My conversation and my preaching were not with persuasive words of wisdom, but with a demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith would not be based on human wisdom but on the power of God.

    ““Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.” Benjamin Franklin”

    –Ben Franklin was a deist, and probably not the best source for a Christian perspective.

  27. Interesting — the mailing I received from ICR today directly relates to the topic and comments on one of the Scriptures I referenced above: specifically, Ephesians 5:18 — relevant thoughts are as follows:

    “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit.” (Ephesians 5:18)

    This classic verse on the filling of the Holy Spirit can be rendered as follows: “And don’t begin to be drunk with wine, which involves profligacy, but be continually being filled with the Spirit.” That is, one cannot be filled with the Holy Spirit (which implies complete control by the Holy Spirit) if he has come to even the slightest degree under the control of wine (or anything else, for that matter).

    –This is a big deal, especially during a Bible study! The truth of the Word is revealed to whom it has been given, according to Matthew 13:10f; this is among the ministries of the Holy Spirit dwelling within us. It would seem unwise to in any way obstruct our readiness to receive His counsel!!

  28. –No, Jesus taught in the synagogue.

    Um, true, He did teach in the synagogue, but he also taught all over the place. He taught on a boat to the people so that they could hear him. He taught on a hill side, before He fed the 5000.

    As for the rest of your points, I take it you believe that all drinking is sin or unwise. That is a position you have to impose on the text, not one that can be applied across the board.

  29. Joe, maybe you didn’t read what I wrote. I never once said that partaking in alcoholic beverages is wrong — I would myself but my medication forbids it.

    Pursuant to 1 Corinthians 8:9-13, you may be causing your weaker brothers and sisters in Christ to stumble, so perhaps the issue at hand isn’t whether or not you can drink a beer and read the Word, but whether or not you should. Or maybe it would be enough to do it at home.

    Additionally, I have a problem with trucking God’s holy Word into the midst of such debauchery as mentioned in Ephesians 5:1. Even if that doesn’t describe you personally, that’s what’s going on around you when you have a Bible study in a bar. It may be construed that you condone or even support the lifestyle of the drunkard when you choose such a location for your Bible study. Can’t you drink a beer at home?

    Finally, as is indicated in 1 Corinthians 2:1-5, we don’t need to truck our bible study into the bar to reach the lost. The power of the Word and the transforming power of the Holy Spirit has always been the medium of transmission for God’s saving grace. You’re cheapening the message of the gospel when you present it as a consumer product through targeted marketing techniques, no matter how noble your intentions. I would recommend John MacArthur’s book “Ashamed of the Gospel” which deals with this mentality in detail.

  30. You’re cheapening the message of the gospel when you present it as a consumer product through targeted marketing techniques, no matter how noble your intentions

    Well, I’m not cheapening anything. My church gathers in homes and an old mall, and I’ve read JMac’s book.
    Don’t tell anyone. 🙂 I’m not all that impressed with Mr. MacArthur.

  31. Mike….Hi first of all…. 🙂 Secondly…you make some fine points in your argument.
    I myself having toyed with the notion to do such a bible study as mentioned in this post, never moved further on it, simply because I couldn’t get “comfortable” with the idea.
    While I can see it’s merits, and shortcomings, I myself could not or did not feel a release to explore this possibility.
    I argued with myself over whether what I was feeling was my own legalistic upbringing, or was it in fact the Holy Sprit “checking” me on it.
    I am still a firm believer in that we are compelled, according to scripture, to go everywhere to everyone and reach them with the love of Christ.

  32. Also…as far as “expository preaching”…. If this is the kind of preaching that Jesus did…then I’m all for it. 🙂

    Jesus told stories, related to the people he was sitting with, eating with, walking with. He used stories to reinforce what he was teaching. I like that! 🙂

  33. Glad to hear from you Jimmy 🙂 From the dates on the last posting, I was afraid I missed the conversation. Thank you also, Joe, for your input. I think that if everyone agreed this wouldn’t be much of a discussion.

    All I meant by expository preaching is uncovering the true meaning of Scripture. Dictionary.com defines exposition as “writing or speech primarily intended to convey information or to explain” and this is my only meaning.

    While I agree that Jesus told stories to convey much of His message in parables, those were not intended to drive home the point for most of the listeners, according to Matthew 13:10-15

    “Then the disciples came to him and said, “Why do you speak to them in parables?” He replied, “You have been given the opportunity to know the secrets of the kingdom of heaven, but they have not. For whoever has will be given more, and will have an abundance. But whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him. For this reason I speak to them in parables: Although they see they do not see, and although they hear they do not hear nor do they understand. And concerning them the prophecy of Isaiah is fulfilled that says:

    ‘You will listen carefully yet will never understand,
    you will look closely yet will never comprehend.
    For the heart of this people has become dull;
    they are hard of hearing,
    and they have shut their eyes,
    so that they would not see with their eyes
    and hear with their ears
    and understand with their hearts
    and turn, and I would heal them.’”

    As opposed to telling a story that would make the message easier to understand, it seems clear from the passage that Jesus gives His truth in parables for the expressed reason of excluding some of His listeners from the truth, according to His own purposes.

  34. You know i see evidence every day that my precious Savior is coming soon to take us away from the madness of this dead world. Please do not mix sin with the truth of the bible …it states in the bible to be sober and alert and look to the heavens for the return of the Savior. He is coming and well i pray that all of you do not fall into the verse written by the Apostle Paul, that churches in the end will have preachers that will tickle the ears as oppossed to preaching the truth and that we are all sinners. For me i repent daily for all ungodly thoughts and desires and deeds..Please i encourage all of you to stop with the madness and look up for Jesus draws near…..God loves you and so do I….

  35. Hi Diane,
    Could you clarify something for me? Do you believe that all drinking is sin? If so, do you believe that Jesus turned the water into real wine?

  36. Beer and Bible. I love it. But I realize there are always healthy limits. Beware of who you do it with. Beware of how much you and those around you can handle. And don’t drink to get drunk. Its stupid. 🙂 Seriously though. I love meeting with a few good guys and girls who I know are solid people and are not going to go over the top. I especially love beer when I can engage in good conversation with folks about God and Life. I think the possibilities of even doing church in bars might work if you have some accountability. Church actually isn’t church without a body of folks you keep you in check. Paul’s letter to Timothy and Titus are great when considering starting ‘church’ anywhere. But there are some things you need if your going to do it. There needs to be a structure of accountability and a vision and mission that the group is aiming for. It can work. 🙂

Comments are closed.