The Simplicity of the Gospel: Part 2

I have read more argument at my favorite blog over the last few days of people discussing whether or not you sould be a Calvanist, Arminian, Lutheran, Wesleyan or any other kind of tag that can be attached.

And once again I come back to the beauty and simplicity of the Gospel.

    1 Corinthians 1
    “10 I appeal to you, brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so that there may be no divisions among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought. 11 My brothers, some from Chloe’s household have informed me that there are quarrels among you. 12 What I mean is this: One of you says, “I follow Paul”; another, “I follow Apollos”; another, “I follow Cephas[a]”; still another, “I follow Christ.”
    13 Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Were you baptized into[b] the name of Paul? 14 I am thankful that I did not baptize any of you except Crispus and Gaius, 15 so no one can say that you were baptized into my name. 16 (Yes, I also baptized the household of Stephanas; beyond that, I don’t remember if I baptized anyone else.) 17For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel—not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.
    18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 19 For it is written:
    “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise;
    the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.”[c]
    20 Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21 For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe. 22 Jews demand miraculous signs and Greeks look for wisdom, 23 but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, 24 but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25 For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.
    26 Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. 27 But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. 28 He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, 29 so that no one may boast before him. 30 It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 31 Therefore, as it is written: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.”

Thoughts?

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

8 thoughts on “The Simplicity of the Gospel: Part 2

  1. Jimmy you may be surprised to hear that I liked these posts about the simplicity of the gospel. Although I can mix it up with any theologian using their own language, that type of jargon isn’t for the layman.

    They need to hear the simple gospel, taught simply.

    As you know some of the folks at your ‘favorite blog’ made me and what I believe about Baptism their ‘subject de jur’.

    Ironically, the reason I believe the things I do about baptism is precisely because of my commitment to SIMPLY believing what scripture says about baptism without over-theologizing it.

    Here are some examples.

    Acts 2:38 And Peter said to them, “Repent and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins,”

    The text says that in our baptism our sins are forgiven. I choose to simply believe those simple words.

    Acts 22:16 And now why do you wait? Rise and be baptized and wash away your sins, calling on his name.’

    Again there is nothing difficult to understand here. The text says baptism washes away sins.

    Rom 6:3 Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? 4 We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.

    Here again the text is so simple and so easy to understand as long as you don’t let your theologizing get in the way. It says we were baptized into Christ’s death and were buried with him.

    Here’s a few more really simple passages that I believe were meant to be understood SIMPLY.

    Gal. 3:27 For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ.

    Col. 2:11 In him also you were circumcised with a circumcision made without hands, by putting off the body of the flesh, by the circumcision of Christ, 12 having been buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through faith in the powerful working of God, who raised him from the dead.

    So the verses that I’ve quoted say very SIMPLY that in baptism

    • Our Sins Are Forgiven
    • Our Sins Are Washed Away
    • We are buried and raise with Christ
    • We are clothed with Christ
    • Our hearts are circumcised by Christ

    I SIMPLY believe these SIMPLE words. Yet, I was single out and vilified for my SIMPLE beliefs.

    Those of you who think that I’m being overly SIMPLE regarding baptism. Please find one verse that says that “Baptism is something that we do to show the world we’ve accepted Jesus” There isn’t one.

    So Jimmy, I hope that you will be consistent in your Biblical simplicity.

    Let me leave you with one more simple verse. I hope you interpret it simply.

    1 Pet. 3:21 Baptism… now saves you, not as a removal of dirt from the body but as an appeal to God for a good conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ,

  2. Chris…no surprise really…you and I have found common ground a few times before.
    I believe the importance of baptism to salvation has been downplayed way too much.
    If baptism were not essential, why would Jesus himself find it necessary to be baptized?

    BTW…I don’t always agree with everything written over at my ‘favorite blog’. I do appreciate the willingness of most posters and commentors to listen to and discuss differing opinions.

  3. Not to sound trite. But I seriously doubt that Jesus was baptized in order to show the world that he’d accepted himself.

    He did say that it was necessary for him to be baptized in order to fulfill all righteousness. (Jesus’ baptism was a baptism of repentance and he never committed a single sin).

  4. Wow.

    It’s amazing. Quote some scripture. Speak some truth. What do we do? We ignore it and keep on arguing. I have to be right. I am right. You are wrong.

    Thanks Jimmy for sharing the simplicity of the Gospel. Jesus didn’t make it easy, but boy He made it simple. Amen to what you said in this wonderfully written post.

  5. Being one who believes the doctrine of election I am told that I am a Calvinist.No,I am not!And this is the scriptures that keeps me from being one.Amazing how the church just must argue Arminianism vs Calvinism,and use those nicknames to point the finger at one another.BTW,I am of Christ.Great article.

Comments are closed.