Dangerous Faith!

danger.jpg

    “I want to be “dangerous” to a dull and boring religion. I want a faith that is considered “dangerous” by our predictable and monotonous culture.”
    – Mike Yaconelli

This was a comment made in response to a blog post on another blog site that I frequent. When I read it, my thought was….YES! That’s what it’s all about.

I want to be dangerous…live a James Bond kind of faith. A take no prisoners, turn the world on its ears kind of faith. What could we accomplish for Christ with a John Wayne like faith. The kind of faith that says…’I know who I am, who I belong to, and I ain’t takin no crap from anybody’! What would that be like?

What would the world say to that kind of faith? Heck…what would other Christians say to that kind of faith?

Dangerous faith is the kind that believes God can do anything….and we can do anything with Him! I want that kind of faith.

I have to be honest…there are times when I think I have that kind of faith….then fold like a cheap suit when the pressure proves to be too much. I hate that. That’s Pee Wee Herman faith.

Oh to have the kind of faith that moves mountains, the kind of faith that achieves the impossible. The kind of faith that TRULY believes ‘I can do all things thru Christ who strengthens me’. The kind of faith that KNOWS if I ‘submit myself to God, resist the devil, then he will flee’.

Dangerous faith is the kind of faith that grabs hold of the this statement by Jesus; “Anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”

i want that kind of faith!

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

12 thoughts on “Dangerous Faith!

  1. Hhmmmm…I will have to respectfully disagree with you on this one.

    Wow…to live a Christian life without excitement….I don’t see how you can.

    I don’t think Peter, Paul, Steve, or any of the disciples lived a life void of excitement. Jesus led a life full of excitement.

  2. jimmy

    you are right, i guess i didnt explain what i meant by that one.

    let me rephrase:

    i agree with you BUT sometimes the dangerous thing isnt what Hollywood makes it look like. sometimes the dangerous thing isnt going around killing the “bad guy”. sometimes the dangerous thing isnt going on the street corner with a sandwich board “proclaiming” Christ. sometimes the dangerous thing isnt to risk your whole income on the Market. sometimes the dangerous thing isnt to have the latest clothes or the flashiest car. sometimes the dangerous thing isnt how our “Christian” culture defines it.

    instead, i think the dangerous thing is following in Christ’s footsteps. which often means poverty, abuse, persecution, humiliation, and more. “rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven”.

    so when i say “without excitement” i mean in the world’s view of excitement.

    does that make more sense?

    peter

  3. Yeah…the most Dangerous Faith is living a life that follows the in Jesus footsteps, really understanding and following His word.

    A Dangerous Faith is one that goes out and does the ‘Greater things than these’ that Jesus spoke of.

  4. i think that is a great idea, personally. but i wouldnt use it all the time. because part of “church” is the people being part of community. it isnt just about getting a good message and with a well-flowing program.

    sometimes, we just need to spend time together, i think. kind of like the first century, where church was just eating together (of course with some prayer, Scripture reading). plain and simple, good community.

    but i fear that is too innovative?!!!

    peter

  5. I agree. We could all use stronger faith. I just read Hebrews. Chapter 11 really gets me. Many great men and women of faith are mentioned.

    You said:

    “What could we accomplish for Christ with a John Wayne like faith. The kind of faith that says…’I know who I am, who I belong to, and I ain’t takin no crap from anybody’! What would that be like?”

    I think we know what this kind of faith looks like. It seeks to prove its superiority through force. It says, “My religion is best.” Ultimately, it leads to war… just like the one we’re in.

    Faith is good, so long as we are truly hearing and obeying God’s voice.

  6. Ryan,

    You misunderstand when I speak about ‘John Wayne like faith’…I am speaking of not allowing your faith to be questioned or put ion doubt by the powers of darkness. Having a strong faith that doesn’t waver.

  7. Gotcha. Sorry I misunderstood. So like James 1:6, which says, “But he must ask in faith without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind.”

Comments are closed.