The iPhone: A Giant Waste of Money

I know the Iphone came out today. What really bothers me is the Christians I hear talking about buying this phone. I imagine some day they’ll stand before God and say, “Hey Look at this cool phone I bought.” I’m not buying one. I hope I never buy one. I’m not going to get into a long discussion as to why. I’m just going to make a few quick points.

  1. This fine phone retails at $600.
  2. There are phones selling for $1000 on EBAY as I type.
  3. Every day, almost 16,000 children die from hunger-related causes–one child every five seconds

In case you need a visual image. Which do you think is a better use of the money?
Apple_iphone_3
or Starv_3

Starv1

Debate about translations all you want, but this is what the Apostle James had to say on the issue.

14What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? 15Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. 16If
one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,”
but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? 17In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

18But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”
Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.

I’m curious, what do you and I believe?

About Joe

I am a simple guy. I live in West Michigan and have a counseling business. I also do public speaking. I'd love to hear your story.

One thought on “The iPhone: A Giant Waste of Money

  1. Joe,

    I know personally that the cost of this phone could feed a small family in the United States.

    The laptop I am writing this comment on cost $2300. Yet I feel no grief or guilt for having bought it.

    If the iPhone is ever available on Verizon I will be buying one and I will feel no guilt. This will be a very useful tool for keeping my life and businesses organized.

    The issue is not the cost. The issue is how are you using the resources God has given you (time, treasure & talent). Are you using them to build his Kingdom or your own Kingdom.

    God doesn’t want 10% of my time, treasure and talent. He wants 100% of it.

    The things I purchase all belong to God and are used for his purposes. An iPhone is not the most expensive smart phone out there. It isn’t gold plated or diamond studded. It is a cool tool. I hope to purchase one someday knowing that it will help advance the kingdom work of God in my life.

Comments are closed.