Jesus Loves Me, This I Know

What a great song, Jesus Loves Me. Though known as a children’s song, I feel it is a wonderful reminder for all of us adults as well, especially the adults who have come to doubt those words.

It’s a sad thing when we adults begin to grow older we lose faith. And not just in God, but in dreams too. It’s like we throw God and dreams in with the tooth fairy or Santa Clause; “those are childs play and only for the minds of children”.

I am reminded of what Jesus said, in Matthew & Luke’s gospel…

Matthew 18:4 “Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

Luke 18:17 “I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

I often have wondered what Jesus was really saying here? Could it be that he was referring to the child-like faith of little ones? Or that it’s so easy for a child to believe in what is unseen. Unlike we adults who feel that, “if you can not see it then it is not real”. I am reminded of a couple more scriptures…

Matthew 6:6 “But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

2 Corinthians 4:18 “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

Oh to have child-like faith that says and believes with the whole heart, Jesus Loves Me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so!

First, know today and everyday, JESUS LOVE YOU, no matter what you’ve done, or what you are doing now… He longs for a relationship with you! Invite Him into your life today – you’ll be glad you did. Secondly, begin to dream again! What do you want to become? What do you want to do in life? What do you want to accomplish? Dream again!

– Timmy

3 thoughts on “Jesus Loves Me, This I Know

  1. How do I know that Jesus loves me? He died on the cross for my sins so that I do not have to face God’s wrath. I cannot on my own accept Christ, Christ had to first save me before I could even accept this fact. Even my faith is a gift of God since on my own I am dead in my sin.

    As for “Jesus Loves Me”, the second verse has the Gospel since it talks about Christ’s death for my sins.

  2. This post reminds me of why we never went down the road of Santa Claus, The Tooth Fairy nor the Easter Bunny. We knew how easy it would be for our kids to lump Jesus and the scriptures into the “fairy tale” category. We started ’em out with the God Loves Me Bible while in high chairs..and have continued in the truth ever since. Now our twins are 10 and are walking in discernment and they have a love for God’s word and the truth…one of their fav books is REVELATION…..!!

Comments are closed.