The Legend of Spin…or…Truth Is Not A Formula!

Why can’t people just say what they mean? Why do we feel we have to spin everything to make it sound more appealing? That drives me crazy.

I want truth…the sometimes painful, honest, always freeing…truth (in love of course).

I spent a few years selling cars and always found that being honest was the best. That’s right…I was one of the nearly extinct honest car salesmen. Doing it the right way always found me either on top or near the top salesmen every month, and made more money than I had made in my life. I did it by being me…honestly trying to satisfy the consumer…trying to get them what they needed…not what I thought they needed.

Truth is not a formula…it won’t spin…it does not need embellishment.

Some in the corporate world feels that it is best if they use spin to make things seem better. Remember Enron? ☹ Is that really what we want? Why do some churches and preachers feel they must employ this tactic? (Insert name of choice here) It doesn’t make the gospel any more attractive in the long run…it just hurts the kingdom mission when the spin is used. That is pretty shaky ground.

Jesus spoke the truth…in love. It wasn’t always popular, but it was always best. I imagine that when Jesus spoke, you could see and feel His compassion toward humanity. I know that is what I feel when I read His words. So why do we feel the need to exchange truth for a formula? Why do we feel we have to spin the gospel to make it more appealing?

Why not use truth with love…instead of spin with formula?

It’s just a thought!

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

One thought on “The Legend of Spin…or…Truth Is Not A Formula!

Comments are closed.