Get Back to The Basics

WHAT???…I thought this was a blog about being ‘Relevant’!

It is!

What is more relevant than getting back to the basics of what the Gospel is…..

Jesus Christ, crucified, risen, living in mans heart!

In Him there is forgiveness of sins, healing, peace, comfort and rest.

It is not because of any works that I have done…it’s not because I keep all or most of the commandments…it is only because of His grace and mercy.

It is because He saw fit to extend an invitation for all mankind to believe in Him and be saved…and I accepted that invitation. That’s it! Nothing more…nothing less.

The Christian mission…simple…“Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled”. Luke 14:23

Yes…there is more expected after the acceptance, but the acceptance IS the foundation on which we build from.

Get them in the door…present them with the Gospel of a savior that loved them so much that He laid down His life for them that they might have abundant life, THEN disciple them. Then show them that they can live a better life by living the way indicated by scripture. Not tradition!

Today’s generation is looking for an authentic, relational spiritual experience. They are not afraid of the cost. They are not afraid to take a stand. They are not weak.

What they don’t want…lifeless, non-relational, irrelevant, weak, going-thru-the-motions Christianity.

Denominational arguments are a waste of time and energy.

The way the First Baptistyrian Pentelutheran Orthodox Charismatic Church in Christ does things may not work for you…and vice versa.

Each church has a mandate….reach your community for Christ.

“I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.” 1 Corinthians 9:19-23

How you do it depends on you! How will you reach your community?

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

4 thoughts on “Get Back to The Basics

  1. How true Jimmy…in working with teens I really don’t see us putting our (the church) putting its money where its mouth is.

    A long time ago I figured that I was not going to live with that excuse though. We decided we were going to take what we had and do it so absolutely awesome that it would attract teens. We figured the best way was putting it back on them to reach their generation and by us being authentic and showing them that God loves us where we are.

  2. Jimmy,
    I (MLD) came over here to respond to your post on the other blog. I didn’t want to put this before that crowd.
    When I speak of unity, I am speaking about the essential – what makes us a Christian.

    Therefore, there is great unity within the various forms of Christianity when you consider the 6 essentials.
    If all denominations/christians believe in
    1.) The atonement of Christ
    2.) The deity of Jesus
    3.) The Trinity – the existence of a triune God
    4.) The Virgin Birth
    5.) Salvation by Grace
    6.) The bodily resurrection of Jesus

    How much real dis unity can there be – the basics are covered and the rest are secondary issues over which we should not divide. Who cares if some want to speak in tongues and others don’t or if we sprinkle, pour or dunk? It may look weird to an outside unbelieving world but as you said above, we all have a common mandate – to reach our communities for Christ.

  3. MLD,

    Ok…I can understand your point and you are right on those 6 essentials.

    It is a shame however that there has to be so much division on every thing else.

    Peace!

Comments are closed.