Thoughts on the illogicalness of Christianity. Why I Cannot Prove Creation.

I remember the first time I ever heard of Duane Gish speak. I was a young, eager college student. I was excited to hear this man “prove” creation and disprove “evolution.” Creation
I even bought some of the most boring books I have ever read on the subject. I was so excited to share this “completely logical, has to be believed argument” to my pre-Christian friends. I was sure the superior arguments that Dr. Gish and his contemporaries provided me would sway my friends view of origins. But….then…..it ….didn’t. He just looked at me and said, “I’ve heard of Gish and his nutjob place. You believe that crap? No wonder you and I can’t talk.” Now, I know that this guy was way out of line in what he said. I also know that he showed he really didn’t want to talk about the issues. He simply felt he was right, and didn’t want to be bothered by the facts. I was still crushed. I discovered that cool arguments very rarely work, in fact I found that a lot of Christianity on its face seems to be illogical–I’ll be writing more about this over the next few days. Then a few years later I found this verse:

Hebrews 11:3 “By faith we understand that the universe was formed at God’s command, so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible.”

Did you catch it? We believe God spoke everything into existence, by “FAITH.” Now, we can spend all of our time attempting to prove the Genesis account. In fact, I’m thankful for people who can intelligently debate the topic of origins. But, if someone believes in evolution, that is not the biggest issue in thier life. There comes a point where we simply have to point people back to Jesus. With dogged determination, force them to answer the question of what do they do with Jesus? We need to live out being Jesus to the people. It is so easy to get wrapped up in issues. Whatever the issue. People do not need us to convince them of the reality of creation. What they need is Jesus. My relationship with Him is the only thing that really changed my life. There was a time in my life where I lived purely for myself. There was two people, my wife (she was just an annoying girl then-not the hot momma she is now) and Ted Boykin who God used to make real lasting change in my life. They simply lived God to me. They never tried to prove to me the futility of my arguments, they simply loved me. They didn’t give me free passes but they let God’s love show through them. It was life changing. I believe in creation, I believe that God spoke everything into existence but, If I am honest, I have to admit the I believe in Creation because of faith. I think, I’m in good company, seeing the author of Hebrews agrees with me.

About Joe

I am a simple guy. I live in West Michigan and have a counseling business. I also do public speaking. I'd love to hear your story.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on the illogicalness of Christianity. Why I Cannot Prove Creation.

  1. Joe,
    I actually agree with you! Creationist apologetics more effectively serve those who already believe rather than those who don’t yet. It is a definite blessing to have various experts opine from a biblical creationist viewpoint, but it’s our faith in and encounter with Christ that changes our lives.

  2. Amen to that! I was told:

    “What is the point of winning the argument if you loose the person”

    That’s the best apologetic concept that I believe so far. As the Bible said:
    “Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect” 1 Peter 3:15

  3. Except your belief in creationism, I also agree with you Joe. I do believe that the theory of evolution is true, but when all is said and done, my beliefs on origins comes down to my faith. I’m working on a huge post on this topic. Also, like you, I’m not too concerned with someones belief on this issue in relation to what they think about Jesus. What I hate is when creationists give people the ultimatum of Jesus or evolution.

Comments are closed.