I Wonder…

I hear churches everyday saying the new favorite tag line of “come as you are”. What I am wondering is do we really mean it? Do we really want anyone to come as they are? Are we willing to “accept” them on their terms? I wonder!

I have a pastor friend of mine who is really taking some heat for what he is preaching behind the pulpit. His last series was entitled “Best Sex Ever”, which raised a few eyebrows in the “Christian” realm, but garnered great publicity in the “secular” ranks. His latest sermon title is “God Loves Gays”. I am sure that he will take a beating over this one. He and I email back and forth every now and then and i am always trying to encourage him to go for it.

Jesus himself didn’t “play it safe”. He wasn’t worried about being careful not to offend the “church” folks. He was out to change the world. He ate with the sinners and talked to the prostitutes. He spent time with the ones who “needed” him most.

So…to all my “Relevant Christian” friends out there. Keep it up. Keep being a light in a dark place. Keep hanging out with the “wrong crowd”. Jesus did!

Peace!No Perfect People Allowed

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

One thought on “I Wonder…

  1. “come as you are”. What I am wondering is do we really mean it? Do we really want anyone to come as they are? Are we willing to “accept” them on their terms? I wonder

    What about comming on Jesus’ terms? Isn’t that the real question – the important question – the relavent question.

    Mat4:17From that time Jesus began to preach and say, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

    Luke 13:3″I tell you, no, but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.
    5″I tell you, no, but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.”

    Luke 17:3″Be on your guard! If your brother sins, rebuke him; and if he repents, forgive him. 4″And if he sins against you seven times a day, and returns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ forgive him.” 5The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!”

    Rev 2:5’Therefore remember from where you have fallen, and repent and do the deeds you did at first; or else I am coming to you and will remove your lampstand out of its place–unless you repent.
    16’Therefore repent; or else I am coming to you quickly, and I will make war against them with the sword of My mouth
    21’I gave her time to repent, and she does not want to repent of her immorality.
    22’Behold, I will throw her on a bed of sickness, and those who commit adultery with her into great tribulation, unless they repent of her deeds.

    Rev 3:3’So remember what you have received and heard; and keep it, and repent Therefore if you do not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what hour I will come to you.
    19’Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline; therefore be zealous and repent

Comments are closed.