Rebel, or Progressive Thinker?

I like to think of myself as a progressive thinking christian. However, I have been accused of being a rebel. That’s okay, as long as you understand why I feel the way I do.

Is there something that won’t let you sleep at night, that keeps you tossing and turning (and driving your spouse crazy!) The thing that eats at you and has a way of coming up in every conversation. Bill Hybels calls it your “holy discontent”. It is the thing that gnaws at you until you feel as if you just have to do something, to improve something, to create something. It is that ONE thing that WILL NOT leave you alone.

That, my friends, is where I am. I am at that place where I can not ignore my discontent any longer!

I have been in the ministry (in some form) for over 25 years and to some I am an “old timer”, but I feel that I “think young”. I am never satisfied with the status quo ( and yes, I know this drives some people crazy….if you’re reading this….you know who you are).

I once read that the definition of insanity is “doing things the same way and expecting different results”. There has never been a truer statement.
What we have to understand is that culture is cyclical. It is in a constant state of flux. Changing constantly. “The more things change, the more they stay the same” has been spouted too many times to count, but is this statement true?

For the most part, churches are having trouble reaching today’s generation. Why? To me, the answer is simple. We continue to do the same things over and over and expect them to reach different people, or generations.
I recently read that the one thing today’s generation wants more than anything is genuine relationships. They want to be reached on their level with a genuine concern for their well being. They want integrity and truthfulness in the relationship. They are very open to Jesus, they just don’t like the church. They see Christians as fake.
I have members of my family who will tell you that they are Christians but WILL NOT go to church. Why? It stopped being relevant to them. We are not reaching them on THEIR level.

This is what I want, more than anything, a way to reach and impact people in my community in a positive, life changing way. Not just bring them to church, but bring them to a relationship with Jesus Christ. The one who genuinely cares for them.

Basically, I am sick of the “same old church”!

Rebel, or progressive thinker? You tell me!

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

5 thoughts on “Rebel, or Progressive Thinker?

  1. I think you are right in many respects. I really felt the same way about church during my college years. However – I certainly feel like a did a great deal of complaining and a minimal amount of giving. My old home church pastor once said to us: “You show up at church – are you coming wearing a bib, or an apron.” What really stuck me about that was that I felt like I had a great deal to say about how the church should do this or that – but I offered nothing but criticism. I realized, as I forced myself to get more involved that the church I was attending WANTED to make changes and WANTED to be flexible. They just needed people willing to make the sacrifice and DO. And so my paradigm began to shift a little. As I left the Academia world I began to realize that my ideas little or no merit without my effort. Consider this Ideas Vs. Execution. Anyway – perhaps I am way off on a tangent now. Good thoughts though. Great blogs encourage thought! Keep up the good work.

  2. Rebel, very clearly. God didn’t give you the option of “being more relevant”. Jesus didn’t seem relevant even when He was on earth. The issue is NOT relevance, it’s the Gospel that you preach and it’s the hearts of the people. They MURDERED God in the flesh for what He was saying to them. What servant is above his master? You preach the same thing Christ did, and be willing to die for that same thing, or be forever known as a traitor who lead hundreds, if not thousands of others to hell. Only one way to heaven, Jesus explained it. It’s not “come as you are”. It’s “come with a broken and contrite heart, begging for mercy for the wretched life you’ve lived”.

  3. Pingback: Relevant Christian Celebrates 6 Years! | Relevant Christian

  4. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back often!

  5. I don’t leave a comment, however after reading through a few of the comments here Rebel, or Progressive Thinker? | Relevant Christian. I do have a few questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it simply me or does it give the impression like a few of the responses look
    like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at other social
    sites, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
    Could you post a list of all of all your social networking pages
    like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Comments are closed.