Focused

in focusWith the constant distractions, the busyness of work, or the grind of our daily routine, it can be so easy to lose our focus. Though sometimes we think we are focused on whats important, we may be missing the bigger picture and missing out on what is going on around us. We can so easily become oblivious to anything outside of our little world.

I was abruptly reminded of that Tuesday morning while at work. A lady came in my store and asked if she could use our phone. I almost issued my standard reminder that I have to use on some employees, a reminder of it being a business phone, so as to put an emphasis on the importance of keeping it short, but before I could do so, she quite calmly stated that she had “left her phone in her apartment and couldn’t get back in”. It was about this time that I realized that the she was not calm at all, but rather in shock and in disbelief as she continued, “I need to dial 911. My husband locked me out of the house and committed suicide and I can’t back in.” My focus returned instantly!

I became aware again of a hurting world, of hurting people and the seeming lack of love for fellow humanity. Too busy. Too consumed with self. Too afraid, important, or whatever excuse we use, to show the love of Christ to a lost and hurting world.

Lord help me to continually keep the focus on You, and showing Your love to everyone I meet.

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

One thought on “Focused

  1. We can lose focus, all of us, funny how we lose it so gradually. Then in an instant, it returns, sharper than ever. Excellent reminder Jimmy!

Comments are closed.