A Little Advice In Dealing With Spouses

I have several friends that are going through marital hell right now. And I know that there are always two sides to every story, so I try to be careful and not choose sides.

Over the last several weeks, I have been doing some reading in regards to relationships and have come to the conclusion that most men have no idea what it means to be a good husband. Face it ladies…We are clueless!

Men want to look at the scripture that says ‘wives, submit to your husbands…‘ and we leave it at that. Then we expect our wives to do our bidding, be under our thumb, and be completely happy with that. (Those men suffer from what I call the I.D.10.T. syndrome.)

Understand this men….right after that it tells the husbands to love their wives as Christ loved the Church! BOOM! OUCH!

How does Christ love the church? Answer: COMPLETELY! SACRIFICIALLY! PASSIONATELY! UN-SELFISHLY!

Here is a little Dr. Suess inspired poem I wrote on this subject.

    A little advice in dealing with spouses
    Men should be men and not little mouses
    Treat her with dignity, honor, respect
    Love her, cherish her, much more you will get
    It’s not at all about what’s in it for you
    It’s all about her what you should do
    Treat her as royalty and remember how
    She’s the daughter of a King,
    and not some farmer’s cow!

    ~Jimmy Eldridge~

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?