There is a Peace!

For all of my life as a Christian I have heard others talk about the peace beyond all understanding. I have searched for it, longed for it, waited for it, prayed for it, but felt that I never quite found it. Oh I caught fleeting glimpses of it, but never experienced the kind of peace that they must have been speaking of.

How often do we hear or read something and only scratch the surface…never really seeing or thinking of the deeper meaning? For me…quite often, but as I was reading Philippians Chapter 4 the other day, it was as though the scripture just jumped off the page at me as if to say, ‘here I am, experience me’!

Here it was finally…I understood….I saw it….the answer!

    Philippians 4:4-6
    “4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

When life comes at you like a tornado, take a moment to realize that you are not alone. There is no need for panic or fear. Jesus is right there with you. Let him know what you need. Let him know you are afraid or unsure.

    Philippians 4:7
    “7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Ah….there it is. Could it really be that simple? Yes!

When we live in the realization that He loves us so passionately and wants nothing but the best for us, we will then begin to see that He is waiting to take our hand and lead us safely through our turmoil. We will then see his ‘Peace beyond all understanding’ encompass our lives.

    Philippians 4:8-9
    “8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

If we can discipline our minds to think on the good things, the Godly things, we can live in constant peace. No matter what is happening around us. No matter what situations may be arising, or what turmoils my be brewing, we can dwell in His perfect peace.

Can I tell you that after this realization, I am there. I am experiencing the peace of Christ as I have never experienced before.

Now don’t misunderstand me….I still have troubles…bills that need paying….too much month at the end of the money…but I am at peace knowing that my God will supply all of my needs according to the riches of His Glory in Christ Jesus.

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

One thought on “There is a Peace!

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with you. There is no peace as I enjoy in the company of Jesus. No material worship is going to give me that peace of mind.

Comments are closed.