It All Starts With Love!

I am of the opinion that pleasing God starts with Love.

I was reading this passage in Matthew 12:33 “…love him with all your heart, with all your understanding and with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself is more important than all burnt offerings and sacrifices.”

I am reminded of when Jesus asked Peter, “do you love me?”, and Peter said, “Lord, you know I do!”, “Then feed my sheep!” was Jesus’ reply.

Scripture also says of Love, “If I speak in the tongues of angels, but don’t have love, it’s all in vain”.

My thought is this….If we truly love Him as we should, we won’t have to try to please Him, it will be automatic…almost our second nature, if you will.

If you Love someone, you want to spend time with them, which by the way, is the reason we were created in the first place, so He could spend time with us. And we do that through prayer, and meditation on His word.

If you Love someone, you will make sacrifices for them.

If you Love someone, you will surprise them, take care of them, feed them, clothe them, share with them.

The scripture also states that the world will know us by our ‘love for one another’.

So basically, if we love, we show it. We won’t be able to help it.

via: the refinement blog

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

One thought on “It All Starts With Love!

  1. Amen. Our relationship with Christ should be that of a marriage. Marriages fail when communication, intimacy, and quality time spent together are neglected. So it is with our relationship with Christ – When we love Him we will spend adequate time with Him in prayer, worship, and the reading of His word. Then, as you say, our love for Him will come natural! So many people see Christianity as a set of rules, “I can’t do this, I can’t to that”, etc. When we have that genuine relationship, it’s not about “I can’t do this or that”, but instead, “I don’t want to do that because I love Him so much.”

Comments are closed.