“My Addiction is Killing Me!”

That is what a friend told me several years ago concerning his crippling addiction to Heroin.

I saw my friend literally fighting for his life trying to kick his addiction. I watched helplessly from the sidelines as he went from one ‘new’ rehab program to another always ending up at the same conclusion.

He wasn’t a bad kid. He grew up with great parents and a strong Christian family, but still as it can happen, he got mixed in with the wrong crowd at school and it grew from there. A story that has been told too many times before.

I watched my dad, who my friend and I both worked for at the time, take him under his wing and try to minister to him, counsel him, and pray for him.

As I thought about my friend this morning, I couldn’t help but wonder, how many people out there today are dealing with absolute crippling addictions? How many feel there is no hope of ever overcoming that addiction? How many have given up and given in to their particular addiction? Hopeless. Helpless. Alone.

I wish I could tell you that the story of my friend has a happy ending. I wish I could tell you that he kicked his addiction and is living a happy and fulfilled life. Unfortunately, the latest and greatest treatment was just as bad as the heroin.

One thing rings clear in the story of my friend…he continually put his trust in the wrong thing! His trust in all the rehab centers, or the latest treatments, eventually cost him his life.

Everyday there are millions of people putting their hope and trust in the wrong thing. What are we doing to reach them with the ‘life saving gospel’ of Jesus?

If you are reading this and are struggling with an addiction that you can’t seem to overcome…remember this;

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11(emphasis mine)

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

4 thoughts on ““My Addiction is Killing Me!”

  1. It is interesting to consider the role that Christianity sometimes serves in getting people out of addiction, alcoholism, gang violence, and sexual promiscuity. I’ve never read stats about it, but it strikes me as a common profile for someone converting to Christianity, particularly to conservative Christianity.

    Maybe people whose problems are related to poor impulse control especially benefit from a strong institutional external form of control. Now that I think it, joining the army often serves as a similar kind of turning point for people who fit a similar profile.

  2. Paul,

    I don’t think you can chalk all addictions up to ‘poor impulse’ control. Some, yes…but not all.

    I also believe that the reason Christianity plays such a powerful role in helping people overcome addictions, is not due to a, as you put it, ‘strong institutional external form of control’, but more to the Holy Spirit granting an unexplainable power, and the knowledge of having a personal relationship with a loving God, and possessing the overwhelming desire to please Him.

  3. i am the youth president of my church and i still go to hotel to sleep with harlot
    and i use to masturbate any time i am in the bath room this will now lead to hotel
    where i sleep with harlot. i am not happy with this kind of life, i have been trying to stop it
    but i still find myself in the same sin. This sin is killing me secretly i need help!

  4. I have often wondered about addictions… which some are apparent… for they are those deep rooted issues which can be seen outwardly. I myself do not know anyone who does not have an addiction to something; whether it be drug related, or obssessive compulsive behavior, or those goodly christians who say: ” I just don’t sin”… the compulsiveness is in their denial and the ability to lie.

    True addictions are secretly killing us, because we don’t want others to know our behavior; especially to other christians who may portray a better show of christian-hood. Addictions are like slow suicide and they torment us, guilt us, shame us, humiliate us, and above all slowly diminish the power within us which was given to us through His Holy Ghost/Spirit.

    Once I heard sin is as a god and we either serve the One True God or we serve sin. The issue is that we who are addicted feel helpless in and of ourselves, and too, it seems so controlling that even professionals are unable to help us. Yet I have seen God deliver people from their addictions. I believe that when we try to do it on our own we only have ourselves to thank, but when the power of God is come upon you and has delivered you from this bondage, you will have no other to glory in, but God Himself.

Comments are closed.