Dangers to Your Christian Walk

Dangers to Your Christian Walk

There are many things that can be ‘Dangerous’ to your Christian walk. This is by no means an exhaustive list, rather my humble opinion on the ones that can have the most tragic results.

1. Isolation
This is perhaps the most dangerous of all the items listed here aside of the Lack of Devotion. The ‘gathering together’ of fellow Christians helps to keep you encouraged, strengthened. But…be careful to surround yourself with the RIGHT kind of Christian people.
CAUTION:Stay away from negative, legalistic, non-caring people….they will suck the life out of you and leave you exhausted.

    Hebrews 10:23-25
    “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”

2. Doubt/Unbelief
The Christian walk is one based on faith…’duh’…so be wary not to live your Christian life according to your feelings. Emotions will deceive you.

    Hebrews 10:22
    “Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.”
    Romans 4:20
    “He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God”

3. Wrong Thinking
Staying focused on negative or wrong things can have disastrous consequences on your spiritual psyche and mind. Remember…this is a spiritual war that we are engaged in and the enemy will attack you where you are most vulnerable.

    Philippians 4:8
    “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

4. Misplaced Trust
This is one where I have been involved in much discussion. Understanding that there are those that are set as teachers, pastors and so forth, we should not to ‘blindly’ trust everything that is told to us or preached from the pulpit. We, as Christians, should ‘know for ourselves’ what we believe. Place your trust in God and in His word!

    2 Timothy 2:15
    “Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.”
    Luke 21:8
    “And he said, Take heed that ye be not deceived: for many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and the time draweth near: go ye not therefore after them.”
    John 16:12-14
    “I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. He will bring glory to me by taking from what is mine and making it known to you.”

5. Lack of Devotion
This has to be the most dangerous item on this list and probably one of the easiest ‘traps’ to fall into. I have found the times where I have experienced the most growth in my spiritual walk with God has been in those times when I am daily reading His word and journaling what I have read. Journaling daily helps you to ‘look’ for what God is trying to speak to you personally in what you are reading.

    Psalm 119:10-12
    “With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments. Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. Blessed art thou, O LORD: teach me thy statutes.”

About Jimmy Eldridge

I am a husband, a father, a son, a brother and most of all, a follower of our most gracious savior Christ Jesus. Who are you following?

3 thoughts on “Dangers to Your Christian Walk

  1. I really liked this post and I think that the focus on isolation is one of these issues. I think it applies to evangelism too…we aren’t called to be isolationists. But your point about making sure you are around the right Christians as well is vital. I’d love it if you checked out my blog too. It’s a collection of new parables that I have felt called to put together to share my faith. It’s at http://thenewparables.blogspot.com/

  2. Kyle,

    Thank you for the kind words.

    I can identify with the problem of isolation. It is so easy for me to isolate myself from everyone around me in times of hardship or uncertainty. It is so easy to become inward focused, to withdraw…I have to make a conscious decision to stay outside of myself and trust God. It is difficult sometimes….then what isn’t.

    I checked out your blog as well….some great stuff there.

    Peace

  3. I’m doing a little research at the moment on what a “Christian walk” looks like when I came across your blog.

    This is a very nice post. Isolation is one part of the puzzle that I struggle with. I work alone. I write alone. I have a little too much time to just be in my head, as it were. I also have a hearing disability that sometimes makes it difficult for me to really feel connected in when there’s a lot of conversation about. So, I need to seek out more one-on-one interactions.

    I also struggle with doubt, not so much unbelief, but plain old-fashions skeptical doubt. Its fairly easy for me to begin dissecting a sermon to the point where I miss the good. I tend to evaluate too much, act too little.

    At any rate, thanks for the post.

Comments are closed.